New York Fashion Week (S/S ’13) – The Round Up

20 Sep

As we all know, by now the fashion week train is in Milan after finishing at LFW, so I must make my blogging way briskly in that direction, Lol.

I’m concluding my NYFW review with some of my favourites across the board, the designers who showed styles I really love. Sleek chic: check; generous draping: check; ladylike chic: check; impeccable tailoring: check.

Here they are:

Badgley Mischka

The clothes oozed elegance and a sleek chicness. The styles were in simple cuts, nothing overly architectural or out of this world but they were done in fabrics with a lot of gravitas. Brocade, Bouclé, Lurex treated tweed and lace made their way into the collection. Really pretty and very wearable.

NYFW_Badgley Mischka_1

NYFW_Badgley Mischka_2

NYFW_Badgley Mischka_3

NYFW_Badgley Mischka_4

Monique Lhuillier

Lhuillier is a designer I find very very appealing because she dresses the woman. Very sleek, very chic, stunning play on fabrics, ranging from leather to shimmering sequin encrusted beauties; everything skimming the female form and rock solid in structure. She also brought back the peplum, giving me the privilege of seeing one of my favourite styles from this summer coming back.

NYFW_Monique Lhuillier_1

NYFW_Monique Lhuillier_2

NYFW_Monique Lhuillier_3

NYFW_Monique Lhuillier_4

NYFW_Monique Lhuillier_5

NYFW_Monique Lhuillier_6

NYFW_Monique Lhuillier_7

Carolina Herrera

I’ve seen quite a few pant suits but I love the elegant way this one was rendered. The fluid silk fabric, the blouson sleeves of the blouse and the gold floral embroidery is simply stunning.

NYFW_Carolina Herrera_1

Diane von Furstenberg

This is another designer who knows how to clothe the woman. I love the draping, the fluid fabrics and the use of colour.

NYFW_Diane von Furstenberg_1NYFW_Diane von Furstenberg_2NYFW_Diane von Furstenberg_3NYFW_Diane von Furstenberg_4NYFW_Diane von Furstenberg_5

Photo credit: styledotcom

Leave a comment