I quite liked the Christian Dior collection

17 Oct

What a day it has been! It wasn’t going to end without me adding one to my Spring 2012 runway retrospective. And there is plenty more to come. Watch out for the luxe and delectable Elie Saab!

These here are my picks from the Christian Dior collection. Post the much talked about departure of creative director John Galliano (after his anti-semitic comments fiasco), I knew it would literally be impossible for whoever took his place to follow directly in his footsteps. I mean, how do you copy a theatrical artist? John Galliano had taken wacky to a whole ‘nother level and the Dior collections were much more theatrical fanfare than fashion show. Even though there was the argument that if you took out the props and pulled the pieces apart, there was something there. Oh well, I liked the collections for pure artistic value, John Galliano made a good show.

So it goes without saying that I was curious to see what his back fill would do. And if you ask me, he did well. Bill Gaytten played it safe I must admit but it was refreshingly and wearably safe. They are all pieces I would love to own, in beautiful soft patterns and fabrics, love the play on textures and smattering of colour. It was ladylike chic and very grown up.

Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-1Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-2Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-1Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-4Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-5Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-6Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-7Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-8Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-9Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-10Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-11Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-14Christian-dior-SPRING-2012-RTW-15

Photo credits: Elle.com

One Response to “I quite liked the Christian Dior collection”

  1. Titilayo November 22, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Yum yum @ RTW 5 & 9! Shando!

Leave a Reply

